The Seven Stars has long been one of the landmark bars in Ripley. The new owners are really turning The Seven Stars into a destination for all ages and tastes making it a vibrant social hub for the Ripley community and beyond.

The family behind the success has a fascinating background which is evident throughout. At the helm is Adrian Bailey, who has been the licence holder for over 31 years. He is joined by his son Oliver who spent most of his life in the area, being educated at Parkside and Reeds schools. Oliver is now director and runs the growth of the business, kitchen and the wide variety of social events.

Whilst Adrian comes from a hospitality background – he has run a number of successful pubs and bars before the Seven Stars – he spent a large part of his life supporting and travelling with his younger brother, the racing driver Julian Bailey, on the route to Formula One.


The first reference to a building on this site is in the Manor Court books of 1536, showing a messuage (a dwelling house with outbuildings and land assigned to its use) of two crofts, a cottage and an orchard covering half an acre. By 1694 the cottage was owned by Richard Punter, who defaulted on his mortgage and the property was acquired by Jeremiah Leggat, a miller at Newark. In 1763 the site was still known as Punters, and held copyhold from the Manor of Papercourt in the name of Sarah Blake, widow.

By 1801 Punters had become the Seven Stars. The copyhold tenant of this time was Sarah Rogers.

In 1838 the copyhold was purchased by brewers from Godalming, W.E. Holland and Charles Churton. The property was described as lately erected. By 1851 the pub was owned by H.W. Charrington of the Woking Brewery, until 1889 when it was sold by Joseph Oldfield to Lascelles Tickner’s of Guildford, the latter who had been tenants for a while. From them it passed in 1926 to Friary Holroyd & Healy who built the present building in 1927. There is a belief that there was at some time many years ago a great fire at the Seven Stars, which may account for one of the reconstructions.

Public records show there have been ‘publicans’, ‘licensed victuallers’ and ‘beer shop keepers’ on the premises since at least 1851.


Ripley is a village and civil parish in Surrey, England. It is centred 6.2 miles southeast of Woking, 6.8 miles northeast of Guildford and 22.5 miles southwest of London.

It is a charming historic village filled with independent shops, boutiques and restaurants. Situated close to the River Wey, it was first recorded in documents of around 1200. It developed with the establishment of the Augustinian Priory at Newark. The Abbey was dissolved in 1538-39 by Henry VIII.

The village green, one of the oldest in the country, offers the highly popular Farmers’ Market each month, the spectacular annual bonfire night, Christmas market and other annual events.


Our relaxed restaurant and bar deliver a fabulous dining experience whether you’re looking for a quick bite to eat at lunchtime, a more leisurely evening meal or a sumptuous Sunday roast.


Our traditional bar offers a wide range of drinks served in a lively and sociable environment. We stock an excellent selection of craft ales alongside a great choice of beers, lagers, ciders and soft drinks.